So There’s That

We got about 3 gallons of maple sap over the course of 2 1/2 days.  I filtered it, I boiled it a while, I put it in my crockpot.  Then I didn’t know when to stop.  Here’s what we got:

It’s a pretty color and it’s thickened up since it’s been in the fridge.

 I mighta let it go too long.  It’s kinda grainy, like it’s saturated w sugar.  Sooooo…. maybe I can turn it in to that maple sugar candy like we get at the fall fairs (YUMM-O!)?  Or it can sit in my fridge forever as I reminder that we could do it if we wanted to?

The sap was flowing again and we’ve got maybe another gallon and a half so far today…  Try it again?  Probably.

P.S. I just found this blog post by Simple Little Home and we are SO doing this.

Explore posts in the same categories: foooooood, home sweet home

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “So There’s That”

  1. Bonnie Says:

    You are a brave, brave soul for going to the trouble of making this syrup, but it sounds like you had a lot of fun in the preparation! Can’t wait to hear how batch #2 turns out!


Leave a Reply

