Time dances on…

and skips and hops and cartwheels…

I’ve got my Bean (Big Girl) home with me today.  While I still can’t figure out if it’s a little tummy bug or some 2nd grade stress that caused her to be sick last night she’s here on the couch next to me.  I’m fretting about how to handle obligations later, who’s gonna go to gymnastics, who’s gonna go to work and when while we’re snuggled up watching daytime tv – Team Umi Zoomi, Dora, etc…  She’s 8.  She’s way beyond these shows but I’m steering clear of the other types of programming on at this time of day.  She doesn’t seem to mind.

This a.m. her little sister was talking about summer vacation – she’ll FINALLY be old enough to ride the roller coaster at Sesame Place all by herself, she’s been waiting 5 years to be able to ride alone.  She was remembering last year’s trip to “Elmo’s House” when mom and dad felt she could swim well enough to ride a certain couple of tube rides single-y.  She’s so proud of how big she is.  There’s no question in her mind that we’ll go back this summer, she loves it there.  It’ll break my heart when/IF she ever decides that it’s a place more for the little kids.

Where are my baby girls?  We still have the “season pass” for Sesame Street and Max and Ruby on the tivo, but now we’re more in to American Girl youtube videos (how to make uneven bars for your doll – we’re totally gonna do that!) and reading chapter books.  There are no more training wheels.  My little girls are not so little.  I tried to sit on the edge of Bean’s bed last night and sat on her foot.  “What was that?” I ask.  “Uhhh, I’m stretched out over here,” she answers.  She nearly reaches the end of the bed.  Little Girl reminded me that her half birthday was this week.  6 and 1/2!  I never planned out this far, it felt like they’d be 2 and 3, watching Diego and asking questions with their little lisps forever.

Ready mama?  Not really, but I’ll try to be.

Explore posts in the same categories: babycakes, beanie, home sweet home, the girls

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Time dances on…”

  1. Tina Delano Says:

    Growing up and having new adventures and experiences is part of life and you are well preparing them for life.

    Enjoy the trips to SP while the girls still want to go. I really miss our trips to American Girl Place in NYC and spending the day there as Katya is completely beyond it at 12 and Natalia is getting there too.

    Hope your daughter feels better soon.

  2. Angela S. Says:

    Oh great, you just got tears on my sandwich. Thankyouverymuch.

  3. Sherrie' Says:

    It is quite bittersweet as they grow up on us… As they grow physically into the creation that God has intended for them, I must remind myself everyday, as my girl is now 14, and my boy is now a man at 18… time flys, but they were God’s before they were mine, and I just thank Him everyday for the gift of children and the experience of parenting. What a wonderful blessing it is to be a MOM!


Leave a Reply

