Here and now.

Today is the day. The snow is clear, the pantry is stocked, no more yukko carbs and sugar, no more excuses. (Someone hold me.)

Last year after I hurt my hip I knew it was time to do something about my weight.  It was time to either go up (another) pants size, or feel better in the size I was wearing.  I stepped on the scale and the number was the same as the week I was ready to deliver Little Girl.  That right there was not acceptable.  I couldn’t exercise because of the type of injury I had, but I knew that if I changed my diet things would more in a more positive direction.  I did a modified no/low carb/sugar thing and it worked for me.  I lost 25 lbs slowly, and went down a full size (probably 2, the pants I was wearing were screaming for mercy).  I slowed up on the loss when it got to be time for my sister’s wedding and I completely went off the wagon when the dress fit just right.  And after the wedding, I never got back ON the wagon.  Where did that wagon go?

wedding

I’ve regained only a pound or two, plus or minus on any day, but it’s time to focus my energies again.  And this time, my hip is mostly better so I should get some walking in to help things progress.  You don’t need to know any of this (and probably care very little), but I feel like I need to be accountable to myself again.  There aren’t going to be any before or after shots, no celebrations for milestones hit, but hopefully *I’ll* notice, and get to wear some of the old things hanging in my closet.  Let’s go, Vanessa.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Here and now.”


  1. We all struggle with the pounds and it’s great that you are resolved to do something . Your girls are super cute 🙂

  2. Tina Delano Says:

    You can do it. You and Christy should be each other’s support.

    P.S. Love the scarves you are making and I know my granddaughter will love the one that you are making for her.

  3. queenvanna Says:

    Thanks, Tina!! I started her scarf last night, it’ll be ready next time I see you!! =D

  4. April Baker Says:

    You’ll always be a fabulous rockin’ mama to me. I know you can do anything that you put your mind to!

  5. Aly F. Says:

    As Moms it is important for us to remember that taking care of ourselves is taking care of the family. I struggle with the focusing on me aspect too. We can do this. It is all about support and “sisterhood” know you are not alone.

  6. Jill Says:

    Good luck! It is so hard. I am on that road too. But at least we are thinking about that road- of course I just made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.

  7. queenvanna Says:

    Ha!! Of course after I typed all this I got stuck with a RAGER of a cold and all I want are warm sugary milk-based beverages. =D Tiny steps, tiny steps.

  8. Kit Lane Says:

    I’m right there with you! You motivated me to get right back on that wagon :o)

  9. Kelly Kelly Says:

    If you are going to start walking more I suggest a fitbit. Everyday I try to break my records for steps and flights of stairs. My husband has one too so I try to bet him everyday. 🙂


Leave a Reply

