Fresh Lemons – Kitchen Re-decor

The time had been coming for a while.  The girls had outgrown their table in the kitchen.  This was a great spot for them – breakfast while I unloaded the dishwasher, a place for crafts and important little-girl work, somewhere to sit and visit…

Big Girl could barely get her legs under the table, and with plates and cups at dinnertime, it was getting a little crowded for them.  After an infuriating time with Target.com, 3 cracked tables in 3 orders and a suggestion that we not try to buy that table from them any more, we went with an unfinished furniture place and Hunny got to use his air-paint-sprayer-thingie.  We matched the table top to the chairs in the old set, and the legs are some white paint I think we just had kicking around.  He did a great job!

Our walls are plaster so it takes a little more than the whack of a nail to hang anything, one girl is eagerly awaiting a new spot for her calendar.  What our kitchen totally needs is 3 calendars in 9 square feet of space.  We’re just like that.

Big Girl painted that watermelon in first grade art class, and since it’s always been her favorite fruit and we seem to go through 11 lb watermelons in a matter of a couple days, I thought it needed to be framed.  I cut it out of the big art paper and matted it on some scrapbooking paper.  Gawd bless those IKEA frames, I think 90% of the pictures on our walls are hung in IKEA frames.

The fake flowers are just cuz… the table feels so big and there’s so much space, so why not put dust catchers on there?

Let me tell you about those cafe curtains.

They’re kitchen towels.  Target has done me wrong with the whole table debacle, I’m so mad at them and yet, I can’t totally quit them.  The cafe curtains are actually kitchen towels from Target.  I had planned to fold over the top and sew them to slide the towel on to the rod, but I loaned out my sewing machine (like 10 months ago) and I haven’t heard any plans on getting it back, so I used those hooks on rings.  I’m sure they have a fancy name, but I don’t know what it is.

We could use an update on the placemats, but the girls love them so they’ll stay a while.

Now we have a sunny little spot for growing girls to do some more growing up.

2007

2008

2012

Explore posts in the same categories: home sweet home

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Fresh Lemons – Kitchen Re-decor”


  1. Very adorable. All of it. And they’re called “clip rings.”


  2. although I had a hard time reading this due to all the technical terms…I enjoyed it and those photos are making me feel very old…cause I remember 2007…..I need a nut cup fast!

  3. queenvanna Says:

    i was so close…


Leave a Reply

