loud music

i’ve said before that when i’m in the car alone, i like to listen to a.m. radio because i like to hear grown ups talk… but lately that has changed… i don’t know if it’s because it’s been a voting year and all i hear are political commercials, or my tollerance for bullshit has been kicked down a notch, but i just can’t stand the screaming any more.  AND my new car has satellite radio, so i have more (better?) music stations to choose from.

we had a quiet a.m. at home today, no preschool, kindergarten in the p.m., no errands… just quiet.  ahhhh….  we can’t have quiet.  we need some loud.  i like to have the voices in my head drounded out (i can’t figure out how to spell that word).  i cranked up some of the DAYS worth of music i have stored on this little laptop and wondered what everyone else listens to when they want LOUD music.

i asked my facebook friendies.  there were lots that didn’t surprise me, the Ozzy and Metallica, the Beastie Boys and Pearl Jam…  and i was happy to see that showtunes were represented, as well as the Top Gun soundtrack.  though that “take my breath away” makes me wanna bang my head on the counter.  i do NOT like lovesongs.  i also do not like country music.  in my real life, i hate lamenting, i can’t stand forlorn-iness.  it’s not productive, i have no patience for it.  let’s all just be mildly stressed and cussy, ok?

sometimes when i have to go to a professional meeting (admittedly there are very few of those these days), or some sort of wholesome crunchy gathering, i like to listen to loud rawk-ous music on the way.  i love to pull up listening to Queen or Aerosmith on full blast.  kinda my “you can’t tame me, man” flip of the finger.  i know no one cares, it just makes me smile.  i like pretending that i have a little wild streak.

at craft shows, i plug one earbud in and listen to my mp3 player.  sometimes people ask what i’m listening to, expecting christmas carols or something sweet, and i want to answer black eyed peas, the NON-radio edit.  i do love songs with lots of swearing…  but clever swearing… with a purpose.  it’s hard to explain.  fergie swearing.  love it.  also, CHEESE.  i LOVES the cheese.  Copa Cabana?  On my top 10 best songs of all time list.  and Barry White is the MAN.

so anyway, here is the playlist i had this a.m. in my kitchen while packaging etsy orders (keeping in mind my childrunz were running free and i kinda had to watch the language. dammit.)  :

Whatever Lola Wants – Sarah Vaughn

Take Your Mama Out – Scissor Sisters

Supermodel – Ru Paul

You Can’t Stop the Beat – Hairspray Soundtrack

Smack My Bitch Up – Prodigy (the girls were upstairs playing) =)

One Night in Bankok – Murray Head

Fell in love with a Boy – Joss Stone

Plastic Jesus – Mojo Nixon

Duran Duran – White Lines

Tori Amos – Cornflake Girl (my dad used to get this stuck in his head, and it would make me NUTS that he’d sing it. )

with all the crappy music that’s floating around out there right now, i had forgotten that there’s some awesome stuff, too.  you might not think my choices are that awesome, but i’d love to hear what you listen to.  and listen to LOUDLY.

Explore posts in the same categories: rants

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “loud music”

  1. April Says:

    Well… today I had blasting the Jonas L.A. Soundtrack, Phineas and Ferb – Summer Belongs to You Soundtrack, and some Selena Gomez & The Scene.

    You may take my adult card now.


Leave a Reply

