sad

i found out today that i lost a friend.  i worked with lorna coley when i was an assistant manager in a group home.  she was a gentle woman, she was so sweet and calm, and never lost her cool. 

she understood that i was a bad passenger, but insisted on driving once a week, because it wasn’t fair to me that she got to ride along every afternoon that we transported clients. 

she would often hum to herself, and in all the time that i knew her, she’d only hum 2 songs, and occasionally let out the words.  the first was “Then sings my soul, My Saviour, God, to Thee How great thou art How great thou art….”  and the other was Let me Clear my Throat – DJ Kool.  i always smiled to myself when she was humming, wondering which song it was going to be. 

i enjoyed every shift i worked with her, everything seemed to go smoothly, she was a hard worker and a sweet lady.  when i was promoted and moved along to another home, i’d run into her and she’d make sure i was doing ok, and ask when i was coming back to her house.

i’m sure there’s a lot more that is going to happen with this news story, and i’m not sure about how i feel about any of it, other than sad that my buddy is gone, murdered by some crazy crazy man, but i do know that i will miss her.

Explore posts in the same categories: history, rants

3 Comments on “sad”

  1. Mandy Jo Says:

    I’m so sorry about your friend. Makes you stop in your tracks doesn’t it? From your description, she sounds like a great person, and I’m sure she knew how much you liked her. It sounds like such a tragic story. I will be thinking of you.

  2. s'mee Says:

    I am so sad reading this. It is always so hard when someone passes unexpectedly. This is devistating. I send you all the good peaceful things I can think of now. My only condolence may be that she has graduated early and well and is now on to higher learning.

    Praying for justice.

  3. Angie Says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry. This is a terrible story. What a shame. We used to live in Hartford, actually – well, Bristol – outside of Hartford.

    Sorry you’ve lost a friend. Things like this are so senseless, aren’t they?


Leave a Reply

